Where Southern Charm and Art Meet: Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery

Where Southern Charm and Art Meet: Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery

If you’re planning a trip to New Orleans, there’s really only one place you should consider laying your head at night, and that’s the historic Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery. I’ve stayed in countless hotels around the world, but this one’s unique in many ways. If you’re an art lover, this is definitely a hotel you’ll appreciate. Not only is this beautiful boutique hotel conveniently located near the French Quarter, but it has a soul, too. Allow me to explain. Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Backstory – The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery building began serving the Port of New Orleans way back in 1854, long before it was a hotel. At the time, it was a coffee warehouse and was later transformed into a chandlery (or general wholesale business). Before the city renumbered its street addresses, the building’s address was 77 Tchoupitoulas Street, hence the name. Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Art and Community – The Old No. 77 Hotel partners with the New Orleans Center for the Creative Arts, a tuition-free high school founded by artists, educators and community activists that offer students from nine parishes around New Orleans intensive academic and arts instruction. (NOCCA’s roster of alumni includes Harry Connick, Jr., Terence Blanchard, and many others.) The hotel showcases student works of arts to help raise awareness for their mission. You’ll see art from student painters, printmakers, photographers, designers, collage and graphic artists featured in the guestrooms, some of which are even available for purchase in the hotel. Proceeds go directly to the artists. Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery is just a few blocks from Royal St., the street in New Orleans to gallery hop, but you can also stroll through the corridor behind the hotel’s lobby to experience the latest exhibition on display at Where Y’Art . Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Your Stay – The hotel has a ridiculous number of room types to choose from! Whether you’re traveling for business, romance, or with the family, they have a room to accommodate you. Each has somewhat of a loft feel with exposed brick walls, signature blue ceilings, beautiful wood floors, and mid-century modern minimalism. Warm colors keep the spacious rooms from feeling cold, and I especially loved all of the natural light. Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

And they have a pillow menu! Often hotel pillows leave me with a pain in the neck, but here, I was able to choose from a variety of specialty pillow types.

Pets are welcome, too. The Old No. 77 Hotel has pet beds, bowls, toys, treats and a list of local pet resources ranging from dog walkers to pet psychics (yes, really). There are even books on pet massage in each room! Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

The hotel also has two dining options on site: Tout La, where you can grab an expertly crafted coffee, pastries or a mimosa, and Compère Lapin, the award-winning restaurant with influences from the Gulf region and the Caribbean, as well as French and Italian cuisine. Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
535 Tchoupitoulas St,
New Orleans, LA 70130
old77hotel.com

Old No.77 Hotel & Chandlery Review

Follow:

34 Comments

  1. September 4, 2017 / 10:48 am

    This is a hotel room?? I can’t believe how hip and artsy the decor is! I love everything about it. It looks like quite the enjoyable stay!
    jin recently posted…COLOMBIA 2017My Profile

  2. September 4, 2017 / 11:52 am

    Omg omg omg !!! This is simply breathtaking.. an amazing combination of contemporary and old classic 🙂 thanks for sharing this wonderful post 🙂 I’m off to New Orleans 😉

  3. Shell
    September 4, 2017 / 11:56 am

    Wow I would love to stay here!! I’ve never been to this town but have thought about visiting.

  4. September 4, 2017 / 1:53 pm

    What a unique hotel. I have a daughter who is a starving artist so I am excited that they are giving young artists a venue to show and sell their work.

  5. September 4, 2017 / 5:37 pm

    Oh it would be so cool to stay here! I’m definitely liking the atmosphere. I need to keep this in mind when planning a New Orleans trip.

  6. September 4, 2017 / 7:02 pm

    Looks a great place to stay! It doesnt have the usual hotel atmosphere.

    Jane @ http://www.thismamablogs.com
    I blog about my journey to financial freedom and into meaningful living

  7. Josselyn Radillo
    September 4, 2017 / 7:06 pm

    this place is beautiful!! i love the deco of the room and I’m all in for those snacks.

  8. September 4, 2017 / 7:27 pm

    I have wanted to travel to New Orleans forever and this looks like a gorgeous place to stay! I love the artwork and just the charm to everything! It’s so original 🙂

  9. September 4, 2017 / 7:37 pm

    Now this is a cool hotel! I love seeing other peoples’ adventures and the real deal about hotels… If I ever go to NO, I will have to check this place out!

  10. September 4, 2017 / 9:21 pm

    I stayed at a place like this in Rostov when I was in Russia. IT was absolutely beautiful. I love the brick walls. Very cute and modern.

  11. September 4, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    Wow, the original wood floors and exposed brick on two walls with large windows and high vaulted ceilings gave the room a vintage feel. With these unique features make it a fun and funky place to lay your head. Great hospitality doesn’t hurt.
    Calleigh Keibler – TheForkBite recently posted…Shrimp Stacked Sushi Recipe With Mango SalsaMy Profile

  12. September 5, 2017 / 1:03 am

    Old no 77 sounds amazing. Pets, art, pillow menus and gorgeous decorating touches. Now that’s my kinda place.

  13. September 5, 2017 / 7:50 am

    What a beautiful hotel! I would love to visit New Orleans! It looks like you had a wonderful time.

  14. September 5, 2017 / 7:51 am

    It must be treat to stay in this hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The article is so well defined, explains almost every thing about staying in this hotel.

  15. Lisa Rios
    September 5, 2017 / 2:55 pm

    It’s so cute and vintage! I love places that have an older, yet modernistic look to them. It is very fresh and the view must be lovely from there.

  16. September 5, 2017 / 9:39 pm

    This sounds like a great place to stay! I love that it’s pet friendly (I’m curious about the pet psycic!). The pillow menu is such a great idea!

  17. Julie Syl
    September 5, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    This hotel looks so stunning and fab. I really like the color and the wooden style of it. Will definitely like to visit this kind of hotel.

  18. September 5, 2017 / 10:33 pm

    I love artistic places like this. It really gets my creative juices flowing. So awesome!

  19. September 6, 2017 / 2:13 am

    Looks like chic place to have a holiday. The decor of the place is so soothing and makes me feel like taking a holiday!

  20. September 6, 2017 / 9:04 am

    What a great review , I love the hotel its very charming I will surely avail a one or two night in here. thank you for sharing

  21. Elizabeth O
    September 6, 2017 / 9:25 am

    That looks so great place to visit. I really like that brick wall ans thw wooden shelves. It’s so vintage look for me.

  22. September 6, 2017 / 12:51 pm

    Gosh this hotel is so beautiful, if I booked in I would never want to leave. Their involvement in the arts is also wonderful

  23. September 6, 2017 / 10:50 pm

    OMG, that is right down the road from me. I love this hotel, before I even saw that it was in NOLA I said to myself this looks like a NOLA hotel. I’ll have to check this out if I ever need a hotel down there for an event.

  24. September 7, 2017 / 6:24 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever been anywhere where they have a pillow menu. That’s really awesome. I love the interior of the rooms.

  25. Anna
    September 8, 2017 / 5:40 am

    Never been there but thanks for adding to my intrigue. Will add to my list of places to stay when in NO.

  26. September 8, 2017 / 8:12 pm

    I seriously cannot wait to visit New Orleans!! And when I do go, this little gem will definitely be on my list! Great review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge